Battle Royale Forums

Welcome to Battle Royale Forums. Join us today and become part of the growing group of survivors.

Black Ops 2 Multiplayer Lag and Gameplay: How to Use Connectivity to Your Advantage

Discussion in 'Call of Duty: Black Ops 2' started by RRock, Jun 3, 2013.

1. RRock

RRock Active Member

First off, read the thread that's stickied titled "Explaining Lag Compensation and Networking". TheUser did a great job (link to it here http://callofduty-forums.com/community/threads/explaining-lag-compensation-and-networking.51648/), and will clear up some common issues right away. I will try my best to not reiterate his points too heavily, but rather focus on the manageable effects of lag. Also, we are not getting into the technical aspects, like time stamping or whatever (I am not a programmer, simply a guy that learned too much about CoD), merely the more applicable concepts. But on to the point, here!

I hear sooooo many people complaining about the lag on BO2. I am going to tell you, right here and now, it's your internet, if you are having problems consistently. Barring that, you are blaming something that you, yourself are taking advantage of. Please, for the love of all things holy, stop blaming lag compensation; you are incorrect, misinformed, and possibly just looking for something to blame when you are playing poorly.

I get it, everyone thinks they are a great player, and it's the game's fault, other people's connection quality causing issues (sometimes true, explained later), or something else responsible for their deaths, but rarely is this the case. Get over it. Stop raging and keep reading.

Let's start with a few terms that we need to discuss to give you a better idea of what we are dealing with and how to use it. We are concerned with latency, lag compensation, and client side hit detection.