Battle Royale Forums

Welcome to Battle Royale Forums. Join us today and become part of the growing group of survivors.

Should I upgrade to Windows 10?

Discussion in 'Creative Art' started by Hedwig, Jan 3, 2016.

1. Hedwig

Hedwig Well-Known Member

I've been running windows 7 on my lap top for 4 years and am pretty happy with it, so I don't know if I want to upgrade or not. Anyone have any strong opinions either way?

2. Morgotha

Morgotha Well-Known Member

I'm paranoid, but I wouldn't unless you need to. Why are they giving it away for free? Microsoft never gives away anything for free. My paranoid understanding is the whole point of it is to put in so much tracking software that it's impossible to remove it all. One guy's post on what the software tells you it's recording is as follows:

Eh, I don't know anything about software, so I'm not the one to say if it's good or bad, but I have found that if something seems too good to be true, it probably is, and then how do you know you've gotten rid of everything if you decide you don't like it later?

3. Morgotha

I guess what really bothers me is the whole syncing your accounts bit. I mean, I really don't want the IT people at work being able to root around in what I'm doing at home because I have to log in to the network now and then. I'd really like to have some assurance from Microsoft that isn't possible before agreeing to have everything I do linked up by someone I don't know.

I've also found that some apps have a bad habit of returning to the "default" settings every time something updates, so I'd assume this will as well, and if auto update is turned on, will everything turn it self back on without telling you with each update? Who knows? I'm going to wait a bit and see. One probably won't have a choice when one buys their next computer anyhow, but might as well wait until someone else does the work figuring out what's going on.

#3 Morgotha, Jan 3, 2016
    Last edited: Jan 3, 2016
  4. Sharpie61