Battle Royale Forums

Welcome to Battle Royale Forums. Join us today and become part of the growing group of survivors.

Why was Abraham's family scared of him?

Discussion in 'Episode 505 - Self-Help' started by Franklin, Nov 10, 2014.

1. Franklin

Franklin Member

Michael Cudlitz's explanation for Abraham's family's fear of Abraham is very weak. I completely understand them being traumatized because they were raped by people that their trusted. However, they fear towards the father figure doesn't make any damn sense. Why would you fear someone who just protected you from an evil group of people? He obviously was not going to harm his family.

I studied raped cases and victims when I was in college. Rape is a very damaging crime. Some rape victims continue to fear their rapist and this may result them to not going to court out of fear and psychological trauma. However, I have never heard of any case of the victim fearing his or her protector. I'm sure it has happen, but I'm just not buying it in this case because Abraham is their father. It's not like some stranger saved them and he has to earn their trust through time.

I think this would have been better written as the "trusted" neighbors raping and kill his family instead of his family leaving to live under a tree.

2. RarreKZ

RarreKZ Well-Known Member

I got the impression that he was all bloody and still shaking from the beating.

3. BatmansHooker

BatmansHooker Well-Known Member

I'm not sure how Cudlitz explained it, but my interpretation was that Abraham's family were terrified by his violence and saw him as a monster. Regardless of Abraham doing it to protect them, resorting to such violent methods simply scared them and made them fear that Abraham had gone crazy and would turn on them.

The point is that Abraham's actions, although ultimately intended to keep his family safe, scared them enough that they would rather abandon him and take their chances outside than risk him hurting them.