PUBG, Fortnite Clean Up At British Game Award Ceremony

by on 11/28/2018

Ever heard of the Golden Joystick Awards? Based out of London, they’re one of the longest existing award ceremonies focused on video games — the first Golden Joysticks were held in 1983, back when joysticks were still a thing. They’ve kept the anachronistic name to the present day, and this month they held their 36th ceremony, honoring the best in video games for 2018.

It was a good night for battle royale as the makers of Playerunknown’s Battlegrounds and Fortnite both walked away with trophies. The recent mobile conversion of PUBG won a Joystick for Mobile Game of the Year. Fortnite took home the Joystick for Best Competitive Game and (you might want to argue with this last one) Ultimate Game of the Year. It’s worth noting the Golden Joysticks are mostly chosen by public vote.

“The team is honored and thrilled that PUBG Mobile has been recognized by 2018 Golden Joystick Awards,” said Vincent Wang, general manager of the PUBG Mobile global publishing team. “The response to the game from fans has energized everyone at the team as we are heads down working on new, exciting updates and contents for PUBG Mobile.”

The full list of winners for the 36th Golden Joystick Awards lies below.

  • Best Storytelling: God of War
  • Best Competitive Game: Fortnite Battle Royale
  • Best Cooperative Game: Monster Hunter: World
  • Best Visual Design: God of War
  • Best Indie Game: Dead Cells
  • Best Audio: God of War
  • Still Playing Award: World of Tanks
  • Best Performer: Bryan Dechart, Detroit: Become Human
  • Esports Game of the Year: Overwatch
  • Best VR Game: The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim VR
  • Studio of the Year: SIE Santa Monica Studio
  • Best New Streamer / Broadcaster: Bryan Dechart and Amelia Rose Blaire
  • Mobile Game of the Year: PlayerUnknown’s Battlegrounds Mobile
  • PC Game of the Year: Subnautica
  • PlayStation Game of the Year: God of War
  • Xbox Game of the Year: Forza Horizon 4
  • Nintendo Game of the Year: Octopath Traveler
  • Breakthrough Award: Unknown Worlds
  • Most Wanted Game: Cyberpunk 2077
  • Critics Choice Award: Red Dead Redemption 2
  • Lifetime Achievement Award: Hidetaka Miyazaki
  • Outstanding Contribution: Xbox Adaptive Controller
  • Ultimate Game of the Year: Fortnite Battle Royale
Be the first to comment!
Leave a reply »


Leave a Response